May Day report

Well … actually May 2nd.

Lettuces (cimeron, speckles) and frisee ... not bad for early May.

Lettuces (cimeron, speckles) and frisee ... not bad for early May.

Early may has been somewhat wet with temps slightly above average for NE Ohio. Temps are highs near 70 and lows in the mid 40s.

All of my plants from the basement are now outside getting hardened-off with a trip to the garage if evening temps threaten to go below 50. The tomatoes in the Walls-o-water are doing really well.

A pest for me is that my compost harbored too many squash and tomato seeds that didn’t get killed by the composting process so I have a ton of little tomato plants and squash plants growing where I spread compost. No problem, they are easily killed by the hand hoe.
I had my first run-in with slugs … they really messed with my second planting of lettuce. So, out came the Iron Phosphate.

Not been a great year for asparagus. Too hot a week or so ago and too dry until just recently. We get enough for a few meals a week but not much size to them.

The arugual has been eaten several times and is now awaiting regrowth. The radishes are being harvested and the mustards are there to look pretty.

The arugula has been eaten several times and is now awaiting regrowth. The radishes are being harvested and the mustards are there to look pretty.

I have started to harvest arugula and radishes. Lettuces are at the small head state (cos and bibb types) and we’ll have some for dinner this week.

First planting of beans (french haricots)

First planting of beans (french fagiolet)

Green beans are starting to form real leaves from the first planting and the second planting has gone in. I have also started out a third planting of lettuces (a red leaf type and some more Speckles (bibb). I direct seeded these and will thin them to proper spacing.

Direct seeded spinach (the wintered over planting is long eaten)

Direct seeded spinach (the wintered over planting is long eaten)


My red onions that I started from seed and set out as small plants have been getting bothered by squirrels … nibbling the tiny bulbs. Gotta get to those squirrels.

Mighty Hunter!

Mighty Hunter!

Ludovick, our young male cat, harvested a young rabbit for his breakfast yesterday. I gave him a piece of my breakfast bacon as a thank you and he wolfed that too, Good cat!

Leave a Reply

