Onions in the garden

Monday (3/16/09) I set out about five dozen red onion plants into the garden. I started them in the basement about 6 weeks ago. They were still pretty tiny (3-4 leaves) but I watered them in and covered them with floating row cover. Even after a few days of sun and near 60 degrees they seemed to be doing fine under the cover.  If they take, they’ll have a great start on top growth.  I have a good many more seedlings in the basement and I’ll probably transfer some to plastic cells so that I can easily transplant them into spots in the garden where onion plants failed to take.

Leave a Reply

