Always catching up

I remember a while back I was listening to something … radio maybe … and I heard some music that I really liked. It was one of the songs by 10,000 Maniacs. I had never heard them before … and they had been recording for so long by then that Natalie Merchant was already out on her own. I couldn’t help but wonder where in the heck I had been for the past 10 years. It bummed me out that I had not only missed 10 years of listening to them but, more importantly, I had missed out on being aware of their arrival on the scene and on following their rise. I had been clueless with respect to something that I really liked. Shame on me.

Well … I did it again. I was looking for some open pollinated onion seed and I stumbled on the Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds site. I thought that it looked reasonably comprehensive and I decided to order a catalog. Where have I been??? Why didn’t you tell me!?  It is clearly the best seed catalog I have ever seen. Not only is it a treasure trove of heirloom seeds but it is as gorgeous as a Patagonia catalog.  (I wish they gave photo credits. )  If one were in a gardening rut all you would have to do is pick up this catalog and you would be ready to plant things that you have never planted or move to varieties that you have never tried. I will order a good many things from them this year and they deserve the business. You can’t help but appreciate the effort that goes into their seed business.

I can’t say that I resonate with the whole Bakersville shtick but I can certainly tolerate it or just ignore it. I have always been  just a bit leary of folks who push an expected lifestyle with their product … maybe I was just counter-cultured out in the 60’s.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

